2311 Stillman Road (1991)
Built in 1914, this traditional Tudor house underwent considerable renovation in 1929 when the second owners added onto the south end from basement to third floor. The first floor of the addition features a charming sunroom and dark-paneled library with window seat and fireplace. Ornate double plaster moldings were commissioned for these rooms, and were also added to the living room. The library, living, and dining rooms all open out onto the flagstone terrace, providing an attractive setting and traffic pattern conducive to entertaining.
An unusual room in this house is to the left of the foyer. Not large enough to hold furniture, but with an entire wall devoted to closets and cupboards, this "receiving room" has windows facing the front and side yards and a powder room attached. Of particular interest is the ornately scrolled metal radiator cover.
On the second floor, the master bedroom with fireplace, dressing room, and bath were also part of the addition, as were the shelves at the end of the upstairs hallway. The dressing area retains the original handpainted vine and flower motif and built-in vanity. The green tile and fixtures in the bath are all original, including the sitz bath and twin pedestal sinks.
The kitchen was recently remodeled by the present owners, who retained much of the original pine woodwork in the pantry. Red and white pine flooring is blended where an additional pantry and wall were removed. An extremely functional fold-up table was attached to a main wail to accommodate the needs of an active family.