2470 Kenilworth Road (1992)
Built in 1923, this eclectic center hall colonial with hipped roof has undergone considerable interior and exterior renovation during the past seven years. The original plasterwork on the moldings and the unique fireplace decorations in the living room have been retained but repainted. The color scheme accents the black marble hearth.
The original design of the house had ended with the library, evidenced by the exterior windows looking out on the enclosed garden room. The garden room, added later, has a tile floor and garden faucet. The breakfast room features a view of the recently landscaped back yard.
The large master bedroom retains the original gas fireplace with cream tile and refinished mahogany mantel. The Carolina pine furniture blends well with the masculine green and burgundy decor. The sitting room off the master bedroom was originally a nursery; the drawers are millineries from E. P. Roe, procured and built in by the present owner.
The small bath on the second floor retains its original fixtures. The short, shallow platform tub and low sink suggest that this attractive bathroom may have been designed for children's use.
An especially distinctive feature of the third floor office is the two "secret passageway" bookcases, one in front, one behind the desk, each hinged and opening into the attic crawl space. The comfortable ambience of the room is rounded out with track lighting and a false fireplace with marble hearth. Adjacent is a walk-in closet-sized kitchen.
The interlocking stone patio was built by the owner, who also designed and built the sandstone fountain where goldfish live. The enclosure of the area with plants on three sides provides a delightfully private setting.
Most of the back yard has been recently landscaped and the front retaining wall, fashioned from sandstone previously used in the front yard, rounds out an extremely ambitious renovation.