2385 Kenilworth (1989)
This picturesque Tudor style house built in 1897 was one of the original set of homes in the Euclid Heights Allotment. Euclid Heights was developed by Patrick C. Calhoun, who laid out streets with English-inspired names winding through the allotment at the top of the hill, bounded by Cedar and Coventry Roads. The aim was to imitate Edwardian English suburbs such as Hampstead or Bedford Park in greater London. In the United States this Cleveland Heights development reflected the enclaves at Riverside (Chicago) and Tuxedo Park (New York). In all of these cases the prevalent architectural style was Queen Anne or Tudor.
The houses were on major streets with a core of stables or carriage houses accessible by a series of mews. Many of the larger homes are now gone, but these mews and the carriage houses remain. One feature of this house is its carriage house with hayloft and other features harkening back to an earlier day.
The house is asymmetrical in design and, typical of many homes of this era, has its main entrance at the side through a porte-cochere. One enters a tall entrance hall and major rooms radiate off this area. The arched doorways with zinc mullions and Gothic windows are features frequently found in the work of the firm of Granger and Meade, designers of this house. A unique feature is the lack of ceiling lighting fixtures. In this period wall sconces and table lighting were preferred for both dining and living rooms.
Some of the rooms on the second floor are in the Tudor style while two are finished in eighteenth century classical molding. Frequently there was this variety and inconsistency in interior and exterior design in a single house. The third floor originally contained a billiard room with high Gothic windows, still intact, and two servants' rooms.