12600 Cedar Road (1985)
One of what was originally a row of nine impressive homes set far back from Cedar Road, this house was designed in 1914 by Meade and Hamilton for the family of Paul L. Feiss, the clothing manufacturer. Baronial proportions and effective use of brick and half timbers in seventeenth-century fashion create an exterior of grandeur awaiting the visitor up the long drive past the deep wooded front lawn. An L-shaped central hall of silvery and gold tonality and light woodwork, perhaps refinished in the 1960's, leads through folding doors to a huge library (the original Feiss collection is now owned by Kent State), living and dining rooms.
The original living room wood mantel was removed in remodeling to make way for opaque mirrors. The high leaded glass windows of these rooms, combined with the stunning opaque stairway windows, are among over seventy-five leaded windows in total. The dining room has traditional grape leaf motif moulding and beams, and its
Regency windows overlook the extensive rear garden area originally designed by A.D. Taylor, as the master bedroom above. Also facing that area and its reflecting lily pool, as enchanting as the Garden Center's, are living room, porch and conservatory, with traditional ceramic tiles and stone sculpture.
Upstairs bedrooms are few in number but spacious. There is elaborate wardrobe space with original mirrored doors. A former ballroom, built at the end of an era, encompasses part of the third floor. The house has other features common to houses of this period and calibre: an in-house phone system, bells for each room, a master light switch in the master bedroom. On the grounds are also a servants' wing and a coach house, itself a most picturesque structure. Its Arts-and-Crafts exterior stairway railing echoes the main stairway of the large house.